President Kenyatta censures Turkana Governor for lack of development

By PSCU/Beth Nyaga

President Uhuru Kenyatta has criticised Turkana Governor Joseph Nanok, saying the arid county had little to show for more than Kshs 40 billion of devolved funds disbursed over the last four years.

President Kenyatta said the ODM-led county was a shameful example of poor service delivery to Kenyans.

The President observed that Turkana county received funds equal to the combined allocations to Kiambu and Uasin Gishu counties but lagged behind in development.

“Turkana County deserve to develop at the same pace as other counties and its residents have a right to receive efficient and effective services under the devolved unit as other counties,” President Kenyatta said.

The Head of State – who was accompanied by Deputy President William Ruto – spoke today in Lodwar town where he was greeted by thousands of residents.

President Kenyatta reassured that his Administration will remain focused on developing all parts of the country.

In Turkana County, the President said the Jubilee Government has initiated projects aimed at transforming the lives of residents in the areas of energy, health, infrastructure, agriculture, water and security.

On infrastructure, the President cited the tarmacking of the Kitale – Lodwar road that is currently underway while on electricity he said over 300 primary school have been connected.

“Since independence, which Government has connected more households to electricity than Jubilee?” President Kenyatta posed.

He added: “If one is a leader who is keen on uplifting the life of residents, he would join Jubilee – the party that is focused on development and unity.”

Deputy President Ruto said he has fought hard to ensure that financial resources for development were channelled to Turkana County because of his quest and the President’s determination to transform the lives of Kenyans in all parts of the country.

“As a national Government, we have resisted calls to change the formula for revenue allocation that would see counties like Turkana allocated less funds,” the Deputy President said.

During the occasion, Turkana Senator John Munyes led 12 Members of the Turkana County Assemble in defecting to the Jubilee Party.

The MCAs who defected were Raphael Loperito (ODM), James Abei (ODM), David Ateyo (Kanu), Patrick Imana (Kanu), Jackson Lowoi (Kanu), Maria Nasanyana (Kanu), Emmanuel Lomorukai (Kanu), Joseph Tioko (Ford-K), John Sepae (Ford-Kenya), Michael Ewoi (Ford-Kenya), Marystella Ekunoit (Ford-Kenya) and Leah Nachere (Ford-Kenya).

Local leaders including Senator John Munyes and Senate Speaker Ekwe Ethuro thanked President Kenyatta and his deputy for the development witnessed in the county .