Pres. Kenyatta appoints new IEBC team

By Victor Muyakane.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed the team to helm the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

He appointed Wafula Chebukati as Chairman and Consolata Nkatha Bucha Maina, Boya Molu, Dr Roselyn K. Akombe, Ambassador Dr Paul Kurgat, Margaret Wanjala Mwachanya and Professor Abdi Guliye as members of the IEBC after they were vetted and approved by Parliament.

The appointments have come full circle from 29th Dec 2016 when the president nominated and forwarded the 7 names for vetting and approval from parliament.

The selection of the 7 has in the recent past attracted an significant amount of debate, particularly concerning their qualifications and the criteria used to arrive at those names. There was an argument that better qualified candidates were overlooked in favour of politically acceptable ones.