Agriculture CS inaugurates taskforce to revamp miraa sector

By Jeremy Ogolla
Taskforce to revamp miraa sector in the country has been inaugurated.
The miraa taskforce is tasked to draft a report on how to revamp the miraa markets abroad that stopped importing miraa from producing countries including Kenya.
Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Willy Bett said the 13 member taskforce will consult farmers, traders and stakeholders and recommend strategies and interventions to support the sector.
Speaking during the launch at his office, the Cabinet Secretary said the 13 member taskforce will also recommend strategies and interventions that will support the miraa sector.
The CS said that the taskforce will also research on how to develop new improved miraa varieties so as to allow for value addition.
The taskforce will be chaired by Geoffrey M’Mwendwa together while the Agriculture Principal Secretary Richard Lesiyampe is the Alternate Chairperson.
The Miraa taskforce which will serve a term of three month is set to prepare and submit a report within fourteen days after completion of the term.
The team was appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta mid last month.
The taskforce members are Dave Muthuri (Vice-Chairperson), Joseph Miriti, Geoffrey John Kinyua, Peter Kinyua Rimbere, Rodgers Karumpu, Henry Ntongai Ituuru, Joseph Mturia, Isabella Nkonge, Ephantus Njeru, George Karicha Thuranira with Jasper Mbiuki and Philip Nyingi as joint secretaries.