NASA leaders sign coalition deal

By Michael Njuguna

The National Super Alliance (NASA) leaders have Wednesday signed the coalition agreement at the Okoa Kenya Secretariat office.

The signing of the deal fades away Coalition for Reforms and Democracy.

The power-sharing agreement which was signed by NASA co-principals Raila Odinga of ODM, Wiper Democratic Movement leader Kalonzo Musyoka, Amani National Congress’ Musalia Mudavadi and Moses Wetang’ula of Ford Kenya will see the four forge a common front ahead of the August  8th General Election.

The deal is also expected to spell out the formula for sharing top seats in case they win the forthcoming poll.

Speaking after the signing ceremony, the leaders said the formula is not for sharing power and dishing out positions.

They said the formula is a plan to liberate this country.

After signing the agreement, the four principals are expected to deposit it with the Registrar of Political Parties and later address a political rally at Jevanjee Gardens to tell their supporters about the contents of the document and the way forward.

The deal is expected to ensure that all the four principals will be accommodated in a NASA government should the alliance triumph in the August 8 poll..